Drawing Progress

This set of three drawings are the last pieces I have completed for my upcoming solo exhibition Formative. They are drawn on card taken from folders that were used to keep patient’s hospital records and they are titled Medical Records. I like the idea of creating a piece of art on something that used to house the entire history of an individual. These folders are now obsolete since every aspect our lives have been converted to digital files, but I do enjoy the bolts of colour the printing on the folders inject into the monochrome graphite drawings. The numbers have also re-sparked my interest in placing random numerals into my work again.

The ‘shape’ that encircles the figures appears in all the new works in the exhibition. This form came to me in one of those moments of limbo between being awake and properly falling asleep. Luckily, as I wasn’t properly sleeping, I jumped out of bed and scribbled the idea down before the image slipped out of my mind which so often happens with those little dreamy revelations after you wake up. Unlike most of the collection of works for this show, these drawings have the shape fading from being a solid line to becoming an incomplete circle. I think, for these small drawings of busts, this works, but after consideration, for the other drawings in the series I decided not to break the circular form as I liked the way it framed the whole body of the falling figures.

Leave a comment

  • Copyright © 2012 Michael Huppatz

    All Rights Reserved -unless otherwise stated-
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.